“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” may be slaying popular culture but it’s old hat to me.

December 16, 2015

lead_960.jpg

Beaten down by the force?

The Force Awakens.  Boy, has it ever. The hoopla surrounding JJ Abrams’ reboot of the galaxy “far far away” is creating as much noise this December as Christmas. That’s saying a lot.

Though I’m certainly over the hype surrounding the new Star Wars film, The Force Awakens, I am glad the reviews for the movie are good. I most definitely will see it… eventually. Best to let the galaxy of super fans have those seats first. I can wait.

I could always wait. Even though I was like the perfect age to fall in love with Star Wars when it first came out, the truth is I did not. I saw it of course. But honestly I could take it or leave it. With its bombast, colorful characters and costumed morality the movie reminded me of the rock band Kiss, which was also hugely popular at the time.

Only not with me.

Kiss and Star Wars reminded me of kid’s toys not rock & roll or science fiction. I could not get over it. As a teenager, I adored rock music and sci-fi films (still do) and I was indifferent, even let down, by these popular offerings.

I was a Close Encounters of the Third Kind kind of guy. To me, Spielberg’s masterwork far outshined Lucas’ cartoon universe in terms of depth and power. Close Encounters was awesome (in the truest sense of the word) while Star Wars was simply fun.

Don’t get me wrong. Fun ain’t bad. But over the years as the Star Wars empire grew and grew in popularity I basically observed from afar. I didn’t even bother going to the last three installments. Like with Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and most fantasy pieces I don’t have a passion for it. Never have. Never will.

Oddly, I like most heavy metal and horror, a lot, which you would think makes me a prime candidate for Star Wars fandom. But in the nerdist lexicon there are huge differences within these seemingly same genres.

Those who know know.

Still, Star Wars has triumphed over the litany of nerd sub sets and rocketed into popular culture, which is part and parcel why the Empire can and is marketed so much. As with Christmas, the vast mainstream seems to tolerate and even get off on the hype.

Leave a Reply

