The penultimate selfie: Is Kanye West really the best 21st century can give us?

June 17, 2013

kanye-west
“The Michael Jordan of Music commands you to give me that trophy!”

Recently, Kim Kardashian’s husband, Kanye West was interviewed by the New York Times. In the long article, Mr. West referred to himself as the “Michael Jordan of Music.”

Okaaay. My opinion is Kanye at his very best is more like Dwyane Wade at his very worst. Injured. But Kanye was just getting started. On his infamous and vulgar interruption of Taylor Swift at the MTV Video Music Awards, he claimed no regrets. Anything but:

“It’s only led me to complete awesomeness. Beauty. Truth. Awesomeness.”

But he still wasn’t done. Not by a long shot. West began referring to himself in the third person. And I quote:

“I think what Kanye West is going to mean is something similar to what Steve Jobs means. I am undoubtedly, you know, Steve of Internet, downtown, fashion, culture. Period. By a long jump. I honestly feel that because Steve has passed…I’ve been connected to the most culturally important albums of the past four years, the most influential artists of the past ten years. You have like, Steve Jobs, Walt Disney, Henry Ford, Howard Hughes, Nicolas Ghesquière, Anna Wintour, David Stern.”

You forgot Ghandi.

Among other unflattering things, West’s douchey tirade makes me wonder: What if, in an ass-backwards kind of way, he’s right? Let’s indulge him. What if he is the “Michael Jordan of music” or “Steve Jobs of the Internet?”

Does he have a point? If so, then this generation has truly slid down the scale.

Surely, the last decade (or longer) has better talent to offer up than Kanye West? Who are the new icons? Who are the next Beatles or Rolling Stones or even U2? Maroon 5. Mumford & Sons. Give me a fucking break. Who is the next Robert De Niro or Meryl Streep? Ryan Gosling. Gwyneth Paltrow. I suppose. Is director, Danny Boyle (whom I really admire) the next Martin Scorsese? Slumdog Millionaire and 28 days Later are great but not Raging Bull or Goodfellas great.

I could keep going but you get the idea. Instead of Bob Dylan or Bruce Springsteen, we have Justin Timberlake, Beyonce and Kanye West.

Don’t get me wrong. Everyone named has a shit-ton of talent and deserves their successes. Even an egomaniac like Kanye West. But are they the best of this generation? Because mark my words: in ten or twenty years few will remember these people, much less give a shit about their careers.

Author’s Note: Soon after writing this, I heard Kanye & Kim (finally) had a baby. Happy Father’s Day Mr. West. I’m sure you will be the Ward Cleaver of Fathers.

One Response to “The penultimate selfie: Is Kanye West really the best 21st century can give us?”

Leave a Reply

