Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day: Reflecting on the “Bermuda Triangle” of Boozing.

January 1, 2012


(10PM)

(4AM)

For big drinkers, problem drinkers, ex-drinkers and novices alike, we are at the highest point in the Bermuda Triangle of Boozing: New Year’s Eve. The other two points, obviously, are Thanksgiving and Christmas. But tonight is the Big One, along with its attendant aftershocks on New Year’s Day.

After that things generally fall off a cliff when it comes to imbibing. Bleary-eyed resolutions are made from under the covers and foxholes around the world: “Never again! Today is the day I stop drinking for good!”

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Doubtful many ever quit drinking New Year’s Eve. Might as well get hammered on the 364th day of the year. We’ll shake up the Etch-a-Sketch tomorrow. Tonight we party like it’s on sale for $19.99!

Funny thing, however, for us drinkers in the reformatory: Any given Wednesday could have been December 31st. A random Tuesday in August easily played surrogate for Christmas Day or Independence Day or that bastion day of buffoonery, St. Pat’s.

Frankly, the calendar days for big time drinking lost their luster long before I quit juicing. All that commotion just made actually consuming alcohol harder. Now you’re telling me I’ve got to wait in line? And deal with all these amateurs? Screw that. I didn’t play drinking games in college and I sure as hell wasn’t going to do so now.

Yes, I had a long-term relationship with alcohol. We were serious. Getting sloppy with myriad mooks at a nightclub was not my M.O. My pathology –and that’s what it was, a pathology– predicated I use alcohol medicinally: to take the edge off, ease the pain, make like bearable…

I had my last drink when Tiger Woods won his first Masters. And now I don’t think about liquor much at all -only when I’m confronted by it, like on New Year’s Eve. Ah, well, the morning comes soon enough. And while you’re scrounging for Advil and Coca Cola, I’ll be running in the desert, listening to U2’s Joshua Tree. Just another day but I can’t wait for it to come…

5 Responses to “Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day: Reflecting on the “Bermuda Triangle” of Boozing.”

  1. Bryan said

    Thanks, Steffan. Everything is right on. This is my second New Years Eve sober. Your last sentence, no greater truth. This day is no different for those of us who were at one time considered “professionals”. We could swing for the fence on a Tuesday night in August if the wind was right.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Happy New Year he who brought altoids to my youth. One day I hope to achieve something of equal greatness!!!!!!!!1

Leave a Reply

