Looking for a taxicab confession: Who in the hell are the drivers talking to?

October 5, 2011


“I just passed another mail box. That makes 147.”

No matter where I go, if I’m in a taxi, chances are the driver is talking on a cell phone. Lest you think this will be a diatribe against cab drivers talking on their mobiles, let me clear the air (no pun intended): unless they are driving poorly or going the wrong direction, I don’t have a problem with it. Even if it is illegal. A foul smelling cab is another matter but that is not the subject here.

What I’m curious about is whom these drivers are talking to…and for so long. They never hang up. What is there to talk about? I mean really. Are they talking to friends about last night’s ball game? Are they discussing tonight’s dinner menu with their wives? The traffic and the weather? All of the above?

And what about the fees associated with all that babbling? I’m assuming these drivers have unlimited calling plans, otherwise their phone bills must be off the chart. Still, is the chatter really worth the expense?

I don’t get it. It’s a puzzle –albeit a minor one- that has boggled me for years. And since they almost always are speaking in another language the mystery remains completely unsolved. Many times I have considered asking one of these men but have always chickened out. “Excuse me, but who are you talking to?” There’s no polite way to do it. Besides, even though as a passenger I’m a client the matter still strikes me as none of my business.

While my topic has little to do with advertising, it is a question of human behavior, which I believe all good copywriters are curious about. So, does anyone know the answer to this riddle?

3 Responses to “Looking for a taxicab confession: Who in the hell are the drivers talking to?”

  1. Just a theory – but they may be talking to the homeless -yet bluetooth enabled- people.

Leave a Reply

