So long, farewell…

January 14, 2011

It’s time. After six terrific years I’m leaving my post as Chairman & Chief Creative Officer of Euro RSCG Chicago. Short term I am working on various writing projects. Long term, I’m seeking another creative leadership position.

Them are the headlines.

Other than the Simpson’s, nothing (even when it’s good) lasts forever. Frankly, the lifespan of a creative person’s job can be as fleeting as a mayfly’s. Given that, and given the recent exodus of so many CCO’s, I’m proud to have served my agency this long. Hopefully, they feel the same way about me.

My parting is an amicable one, if not a little sad. I’ll miss the people, places and things that comprise Euro RSCG Chicago, from the genuinely collaborative leadership team to the great room at the center of our building. It was here we held agency meetings and holiday parties. It was here I got to communicate to colleagues and show off their work. That will go on without me.

It’s no secret when I came to Euro the agency was in rough shape, clinging to one advertising client. The local press called it a “corpse.” I was asked to help resurrect the ad practice and integrate it with the other marketing services. There is proof we succeeded, the best being we were able to navigate the recession relatively unscathed. If we weren’t aligned we couldn’t have done it.

Obviously, there were bumps in the road but I believe the agency is on the verge of doing great things. I wish them every success.

24 Responses to “So long, farewell…”

  1. AJ said

    Wish you all the best Steffan!

  2. Tripp said

    Sorry to hear the news, Steffan. Enjoy the down time!

    Tripp

  3. Madison said

    Reading the headline, i dreaded that you were planning on leaving the blog behind…Do I remember correctly you were in talks to sell movie rights to Happy Soul Industry? Is this a new path? Good luck with all!

  4. Best of luck, Steffan! Hope you’ll continue with your blogging and book authoring.

  5. God speed Steffan. I know you will enjoy the journey.

  6. Tracy said

    On to the next adventure, sir!

  7. May you feast on pâté for the rest of your days.

  8. SRP said

    Thank you all for your kind words here and on Facebook, Linkedin, etc.
    But please don’t be “sorry about your loss.”
    It’s not like that at all. I’m thrilled!

  9. MissManlove said

    CONGRATULATIONS! Big changes abound in 2011! I wish you all the very best in your future endeavors and will most certainly continue to read your blog and stalk you on Twitter!

  10. maria said

    take me with you!

  11. Christine Montet said

    Dear Steffan an elegant farewell! The journey continues. Bon Voyage you are not alone. CM

  12. Mark Faulkner said

    I see you’ve made it official. Good. When are you coming to see me?

  13. dave ross said

    next chapters can be a kot more fun than the last one. have fun storming the castle!

  14. brian said

    Steffan,

    I wish you continued success!

    Brian

  15. Clay Purdy said

    Hey Steffan…I’d put it this way: Congratulations! And don’t overdo it at the gym!

  16. Mindy V said

    Best wishes Steffan! On to the next adventure.

  17. Greg Itahara said

    Life is about change and bringing new challenges to enable us as humans to grow & adapt. Sometimes the things that challene us the most define us. Sounds you’ve brought many clients prosperity with the ads you help create, you’ve captivated many readers with the stories you’ve written, inspired up and coming creatives to reach their full potential but most of all you defined yourself as “yourself” as you pave the road of life for not only yourself, your family but for those who believe in you. Good luck in your new post and may the “Gods of Advertising” continue to shine upon you.

  18. Greg Itahara said

    Sorry for the previous comment. Couldn’t scroll to proof read what I wrote via iPhone. Here’s the correct version (this is why I’m not a copywriter):

    Life is about change and bringing new challenges to enable us as humans to grow & adapt. Sometimes the things that challenge us the most define us. You’ve brought many clients prosperity with the ads you help create, you’ve captivated many readers with the stories you’ve written, inspired up and coming creatives to reach their full potential but most of all you defined yourself as “yourself” as you pave the road of life for not only yourself, your family but for those who believe in you. Good luck in your new post and may the “Gods of Advertising” continue to shine upon you.

  19. Jason Fox said

    Congrats and good luck, sir. I know of one place in your wife’s hometown that could use you (and is looking).

    Enjoy the time off with your family.

    Fox

  20. patty said

    Congrats Steffan! Whatever you do next will be wonderful. Keep us posted and please keep writing!

  21. Erin Donahue said

    Steff- wishing you the best and lots of continued success! Some of my favorite times in my short career thus far were working with you! Hope to cross paths again down the road.

    Erin

Leave a Reply

