Does blogging bring out the pyromaniac in all of us? Only if you’re lucky.

July 10, 2010


Kumbaya, my Lord…Kumbaya

The last few stories on GOA received record numbers of readers and more comments than on any other topic I’ve written about, save one.

Thank you. Your support means the world to me. Yet, while my heart likes to think the turnout is on account of my brilliant writing and astute analysis my head tells me you came because I chose some really good topics, topics that started out as one thing and, via your commentary, blossomed into others.

That’s the great thing about blogging. Good stories don’t end. They continue to be written, debated, critiqued, and ultimately rewritten, often while the author is participating. The words become live, part of a dialogue, the “conversation” everyone says the Internet is about. I’m positive these conversations make us better people for having them. If they don’t then I’m missing the point. Clue me in.

In some respects I feel like a fire starter more than a writer. And I mean that in a good way. If my intuition tells me a topic is relevant or incendiary I need only provide kindling (words) and a spark (inspiration) to get it going. Then I stand out of the way and let it breathe. Then you come in adding firewood, keeping the blaze going. And thus the metaphor is complete. We have a campfire, roaring with discussion and debate. Often it can even start fires elsewhere. And yes they might burn out of control. But, hey, that’s a good thing! And if your fire fizzles out that’s just as well. People weren’t interested. They moved on.

With that in mind I’m hoping to bring more heat. Indeed, my next post is about none other than the former Chief Creative Officer and co-founder of Crispin Porter & Bogusky, Alex Bogusky. No one brought more heat to the advertising business than he did. As most of you know, he resigned his post last week, for reasons that are only partly known. I’ll explore those and offer my hypothesis on some others. Then we’ll discuss the man himself and his significant legacy. A while back I had a long talk with Alex and I’m hoping that that conversation adds an important context to what is now, in my opinion, an unfinished story. Until then, anybody got a light?

Follow me on Twitter

Read my novel this Summer!

Submit to the Rogue\'s Gallery!

Leave a Reply

