Of mission statements, morbidity, and writing for an audience…

May 12, 2010


Dear Nobody…

Lately, I’ve been writing about more than just advertising: anxiety, fear, death, and other worrisome stuff. Though I try and keep it within the realm of marketing, I wander. Not a good move for a copywriter, I know. I’m also sorry if that doesn’t fulfill your expectations for this blog.

I created Gods of Advertising to be an emotionally honest, credible exploration of our industry. Gods of Advertising is a spiritual hall monitor for the people, places and things comprising (and compromising) the advertising industry, a discussion between the commercial (and sometimes capricious) world of advertising and the spiritual side of its human contributors. My opinion is that makers of ads often play fast and loose with the seven deadly sins (lust, greed, envy, sloth, etc). I speculate what that might mean for the advertising industry…and for all of us in it.

Sounds heavy. But you know mission statements… Look, I know you didn’t ask for my opinion. And I don’t ask your permission to give it. Yet, here we are.

That you’re reading this means everything to me. For me, a writer without an audience is no different than a tree falling with no one there to witness it. It didn’t happen. Whenever I hear someone claim he writes only for himself I cringe. Diaries are for school children.

I’ve written it a hundred times: a writer writes. Period. What I haven’t said is why. It’s not just for the paycheck. Writers dream of readers; they must. I’ve always imagined my audience. Always. Even when writing copy. Especially when writing copy. If a copywriter doesn’t have his audience front and center, he isn’t doing his job. He might as well be journaling…

And so I remember my audience –You! And turn what began as another introspective essay into an insight on copywriting (I hope). The Gods of Advertising have stayed on point, if just barely. Amen.

Follow me on Twitter

The Happy Soul Industry on Amazon

Submit to the Rogue\'s Gallery!

8 Responses to “Of mission statements, morbidity, and writing for an audience…”

  1. Kym said

    Well, you post on fear and advertising helped me a lot the other day, so thank you.🙂

    Love what you write.

    • SRP said

      Kym-
      If you’re serious (and why would you not be?), I feel truly blessed to have been able to help you through any darkness.

  2. Barrett said

    I, for one, enjoy the deep posts and the not-so-deep posts alike. Keep it up. To paraphrase George Lois in a recent interview in regard to magazines, you shouldn’t write what your audience expects. You write what you write and the audience will come.

  3. @scottrcrawford said

    Trudge on!

  4. Who you calling a nobody?

    Seriously, as a fellow advertising copywriter, I appreciate your thoughtful perspective in Gods of Advertising.

    As a Christian, I’m also interested in the advertising of God. In a manner of speaking.

    Dave

  5. Steffan,

    This blog is exactly what it needs to be. Don’t stop.

  6. Brook said

    Sir, please step away from the edge.

    Seriously, who’s going to be the catalyst for one of my many rants?

Leave a Reply

