Oh, baby! E Trade commercials are so funny you’ll do a spit take.

March 31, 2009

images13

E trade Babies, hilarious out takes

I’ll never open an E Trade account. I don’t know anyone who trades or invests online. Honestly, I’m not even sure how that stuff works. It’s like online gambling. No clue. No interest either.

But I love those E trade babies! You know the campaign. It premiered on the Super Bowl -an infant glibly rapping about investments before spitting up. More commercials soon followed. All ripping. One spot had me laughing so hard I almost fell off the treadmill. Frankly, there was more hilarity in the 60- second version I saw at the movie theater than in the comedy I paid money to see.

Does that make this good advertising? Is it too silly for these dark economic times or just the thing? I wonder… But they sure are funny. The fact that this campaign was made by the never-heralded Grey New York adds to my wonderment.

4 Responses to “Oh, baby! E Trade commercials are so funny you’ll do a spit take.”

  1. adchick said

    At first, it took me a while to remember who the commercial was for, but their frequency taught me. The baby assures me buying stock on-line is so easy…but then he spits up…hmmmm. Did a case of the nerves make his stomach upset!? Great memorability, but I doubt if I’ll buy stock on line…I’d be so nervous, I’d spit up too!

  2. SRP said

    I know…I know…
    You’d think e Trade would be mortified at infants trading stocks and the message that sends.
    But I’m glad they aren’t.

  3. I can see how they would be appealing to the target, but I personally think these are pretty weak. There’s been a bunch of spots showing kids talking like adults (AIG, anyone?) and a bunch of spots showing talking babies. Combine the two, and you get these. Nothing interesting to see here, in my opinion.

  4. SRP said

    Trueblood-
    Yes, talking babies not new and, frankly, something I usually abhor. But these spots are written so well I not only forgive the cliche but I adore them as well.

Leave a Reply

