“Trust Me” fools me with its ingenius ad campaign.

January 21, 2009

trustme_gallery_007_512x341

Even I was fooled by the front cover of Adweek magazine. Maybe you saw it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t upload the image. This week’s edition read: “Agency of the year, Rothman, Greene & Mohr.” Who are these guys? I wondered. And wasn’t Crispin Porter & Bogusky Adweek’s agency of the year?

Turns out the whole thing is a promotion for my friend’s new TV show, “Trust Me,” about advertising and relationships in the Windy City. Unlike Mad Men, the series takes place here and now. RG&M is the fictional Chicago ad agency depicted in the series. The two 30-something white guys on the cover are its stars, Eric McCormack and Tom Cavanagh. (Speaks well of the casting, seeing as the two actors look like every creative director I’ve ever known, though perhaps a bit more photogenic!)

You’d think I’d have seen this coming, given how I helped creators’ Hunt Baldwin and John Coveny with some prepping and propping. (That’s my Cannes Gold Lion in Mason’s office. Don’t lose it!)

Yet, I was totally fooled. The artistry of this faux campaign goes pretty deep. Read the “interview” with Mason and Connor in Adweek. And check out the agency website: rgmagency.com

the agency website, complete with real clients!

On it you’ll even find a client roster, some of them real, some not. Among the actual clients are Dove and Buick. Madison avenue and Hollywood are truly merged. Not featured are the two pieces of Euro RSCG business in the show as well: Effen Vodka and Potbelly. (I’m not sore for the omission…but good luck selling those Buicks.)

It’s an impressive campaign, obvious yet original. Here’s hoping the show is too! The early reviews have been very good. Now, finally, it’s your turn. “Trust Me” premiers next week on January 26th at 10 p.m. ET.

4 Responses to ““Trust Me” fools me with its ingenius ad campaign.”

  1. Van Gould said

    Their website is pretty sweet; it looks like they will update “Agency News” as the season goes on. Does anyone know if Rothman Greene & Mohr is hiring?

  2. I love the way that they’ve marketed the show. Adweek cover, the website… very cool. Shows that they guys behind the show really know advertising.

    Unfortunately, I watched the show last night, and IT shows that the guys behind it have gone for a hollywood masses sellout version of advertising. Now, I know that the general public would never watch a show that was actually accurate in portraying what we do. As fun as this job is for us, it’s really not THAT interesting to the outside observer. But this show… what do I say about this show that has managed to cobble together a cast of pretty good actors to all play characters that don’t have a single likable characteristic between them.

    Have I spent the better part of 12 years, in six states and even more agencies being the absolute luckiest guy in advertising? Is it utterly uncommon that I’ve experienced a career free of backstabbing and melodrama? Did anyone NOT think everyone working for RGM is a total asshole?

    But, I’ll watch every episode they air because, after all, this is a show about what I do. About, me. I just don’t think there’ll be very many episodes of this one… trust me.

  3. SRP said

    Ronan-
    You’re right. lots of character defects on display.
    At least the death of the evil CD caused appropriate reflection. As for the show, remember this is the Pilot. It only gets better…

  4. I am definitely reserving final judgment until I’ve seen a few. I know they had to “establish” a lot with that one. And, I try to think of it like this: My brother owns a law firm. And he’s pretty good, and pretty serious about it. I think Boston Legal is a fun show. He thinks it’s preposterous. Which it is. Lawyers don’t act that way. Neither do crime scene investigators. And for fans of the West Wing during the Bush Administration… neither do Presidents!

    I’m hoping for the best. And hoping the characters act a little less like they’re brain surgeons, and a little more like they’re working in the coolest profession in the business world, you know, outside of making TV shows.

    Mad Men is brilliant, and according to my first boss, Stan Dragoti, pretty accurate despite the ridiculousness. It’s just that in the 60s, our biz actually was ridiculous. Damn… I wish I were working then.

Leave a Reply

