A long way from Cannes, thank God.

July 7, 2008

The view from the dock. And what was under it. Plus, no ads!

My family spent the 4th of July at our in cottage in Bailey’s Harbor, Wisconsin: Sun screen and Deep Woods Off. Peppermint ice cream at the Yum Yum Tree. A parade up Highway 57. The giant bass under the pier. Fireworks. A terrified dog under the bed. You get the picture. Americana is alive and well, in case anyone was wondering.

Although we have a beat up VHS, one of the things we don’t get up north is a TV reception. Or the Internet. I wondered how the Cubs and Sox were doing but not enough to pine. If my wife missed What Not To Wear or The Wives Of Orange County she wasn’t letting on. The kids ate breakfast just fine without Sponge Bob and, frankly, so did I. And what about my nightly surfing of advertising sites and assorted blogs?

None of it was missed.

And something else: Advertising. Without TV, Internet or decent radio reception suddenly we were thrust in a world without sponsors. Door County is fairly strict about outdoor advertising, so the only billboards encountered tended to be for local wineries or cherry picking. And while the odd hand-painted anti-abortion boards gave pause, it was a small price to pay for all that unadulterated scenery! (Those of you who know me know how much I adore the medium of outdoor. As a copywriter nothing delivers like a brilliant headline.) But on this small Wisconsin peninsula I’m delighted to see none, good or bad.

I’m happy to report being away from it all still means what it used to. Granted, we were only gone a few days. I’m sure Technology Jones would have crashed my serenity party sooner or later. The myriad stars in the sky were ever so beautiful but the blogosphere beckons like a drug!

Yet the ads –dumb ones, lion winners, and every integrated who-ha in between; I seriously doubted I’d ever miss those. But then I realized it’s advertising that got me the cottage in Door County. Commercial enterprise (in all its crassness) is what allows the American experience to flourish in the first place.

4 Responses to “A long way from Cannes, thank God.”

  1. David Burn said

    You didn’t miss reading and commenting on AdPulp? I’m crushed.

    p.s. I hope you fried that fish.

  2. SRP said

    Only catch and release. BTW, very few people actually keep and eat bass anymore. As for missing blogs and the like I know I would. Funny, logging on to your blog (and mine) reminds me of pulling in a fishing net. I never know what I’ll catch.
    -SRP

  3. Suex said

    Every morning I pull in my facebook net and see what’s there. You’re right, it is half the fun.
    Sx

  4. Curtis Smith said

    I enjoyed your latest posting and appreciate that you haven’t lost perspective. I think so many people (and they are not limited to advertising) think that what they do in the course of their jobs makes them VERY IMPORTANT PEOPLE. In fact, it is a well-known adage that when it comes to work, no one is irreplaceable, and unless you’ve dedicated yourself to helping others, no one is that important. Where people are irreplaceable and vitally important, however, is in the role they play in their family. To be a good dad or a good mom, that’s where one’s importance cannot be overstated, and that’s where one’s role IS irreplaceable.

    Too many people get carried away with themselves, lose sight of what’s truly important, and become the type of people, such as Kimono Man (whom you mentioned in an earlier posting), who forget what it’s all about.

    Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now. It’s just that, like you, we spend time in northern Wisconsin (way up there), and when you sit on a pier and watch bald eagles fly overhead, it’s a humbling experience in a good way.

Leave a Reply

