Gratitude. It’s like pizza and sex.

February 20, 2008

In between heated discourse over creative mandates, the follies of integration and the death of mass media, I think it’s a good time to say thank you to the gods of advertising, for I am truly blessed.

For all its unnecessary drama, rampant egos and backstabbing I make a great living doing something I genuinely enjoy and most days am pretty good at.

How many people can say that…I mean really?

I get to work with famous companies and those that are trying to become famous. And I get to work with new ones every year.

I get to work with the brightest, hippest, and dare I say it, sexiest people in the world.

I get to go all over the world. Last week I was in New Orleans for company meetings. Next up television production in South Africa. That’s right; next week I am going to South Africa to make a TV commercial about a tidal wave! I wrote the script. I cast the film. I get to help put it together. Then I get to see it on TV along with millions of other people. If I’m lucky, the spot will get a bunch of awards. I will then get to go get those awards. In places like Cannes.

That’s a lot of ‘I gets.’

I am the Chief Creative Officer of Euro RSCG. Before that I was an Executive Creative Director at Leo Burnett. For over 20 years I’ve been a copywriter. In my opinion, I have the best job in the world. Like pizza and sex: even when it’s bad it’s still pretty good. Pretty damn good.

And for that I am eternally grateful.

One Response to “Gratitude. It’s like pizza and sex.”

  1. BB said

    Wow, this sounds a lot like a “Godsofadvertising” farewell post.
    Hope it’s not.

Leave a Reply

