The streets of San Francisco eventually lead to the DMV.

July 26, 2012

Future drivers of America. Lord.

I spent a few hours at The San Francisco DMV. I could not put it off any longer. It was time to get a Cali driver’s license.  But alas, I had to take the written test, some 30 questions. Many of them have a San Francisco bent, such as knowing which way to turn your tires when parking on hills. Answer(s): Facing down to the right; up to the left. Just the opposite if you’re on the other side of the street. The key is knowing which way the card will roll if one’s breaks were to fail. They want it to roll toward the sidewalk NOT the street.

After the test (yes, I passed), the official told me “you’d be surprised how many locals get that wrong.” Be that as it may, I was prepared. I only missed one! Something about stopping for a blind man. Screw that, he should watch where he’s going! Actually, like a lot of the questions, it was worded in such a way as to make the first seemingly right answer the wrong one. Devious bastards. But I’d taken all five practice quizzes online and I was ready for any trick questions. Only missed the one.

So, you may ask, what the hell does this have to do with advertising? Not a whole lot. But it’s the main reason I don’t have a legit blog post. The DMV is a process –a convoluted and Byzantine one. Lots of lines. It chewed up my day and spit it out.

I did see an ad that amused me, posted below.

“Do not operate heavy machinery after drinking.” Fittingly blurry photo (Love the chainsaw)

One Response to “The streets of San Francisco eventually lead to the DMV.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,387 other followers

