A rusted bug and a wrecked hornet: A tale of two cars.

July 11, 2012

Honk if you have 31 million bucks!

During a faux race for rich people in France, the most expensive car in the world crashed: a 60’s era Ferrari GTO, one of thirty in existence. The sexy red coup was said to be worth over 31 million dollars. By the way the owner’s wife broke her arm in the accident. Here’s the story. Whatever.

Thirtyonemilliondollars.

I get how much shit costs. I also get the crazy figures certain luxury brands command, like Ferrari. But over 31 million for a motorcar? And it’s not made of gold. And it can’t fly? Crazy. I bet it would only cost a fraction of that amount to replicate the roadster, right down to the lug nuts. But it wouldn’t have that pedigree. That serial number. That mystique.

On the proverbial other side of the parking lot, my brother, Jeremy recently dug up this photo of my very first automobile: a 1970 convertible Volkswagen Bug. My father got a good price for it and tendered me an even better one: Free. A stick shift, it’s what I learned to drive in.

My rusty Bug.

After a summer of top-down fun in Chicago, I took that car with me to my freshman year at Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa. For obvious reasons, I would later transfer to the University of Wisconsin in Madison. Until then, that air-cooled bug and me made many a white-knuckled trip back and forth on Interstate-80, about 400 miles each way. Barely doing 60. During epic rainstorms we basically skidded. For winter break I had to keep my coat, hat and gloves on the entire trip. Besides a terrible heating system, the car had holes in it the way a teenager had acne. Holes that grew bigger. While driving, I could literally see the highway below my feet. At school, I tried to always park on a hill so I could initiate rolling starts when the ignition invariably failed.

Still, I loved that mess of a car. It’s ripped and shredded top. It’s jittery engine and tinny AM-only radio. Bicycle wide tires that gripped for shit. I don’t remember what happened to my bug. I’m glad my brother found this picture of it and (somewhat oddly) sent it to me on the same day the most expensive car in the world got wrecked. Call it car-ma.

4 Responses to “A rusted bug and a wrecked hornet: A tale of two cars.”

  1. If it makes you feel any better, if they were the same value, I’d rather have the bug aha. But, y’know, 31 million is a big deal too.

  2. Gerry Pirritano said

    Great post! My first car was also a VW Bug. A 1968 orange, rust and Bondo car-wanna-be similar to yours. The floor of the trunk was completely gone and the glove compartment opened to the road below. It had no first gear which required it be parked on a hill to get moving, and the “custom” unfinished sunroof hole must have been cut by a very dull chainsaw I suspect, as it’s edges were more hazardous than the fumes that seeped from the engine compartment to give all riders a nauseating buzz. Ahhh, good memories…

  3. Lambert Hicks said

    The Fast and the Furious takes this additude and applies it directly to honda cars. Almost every single honda car in the movie is wrecked, trashed, or otherwise defaced and destroyed. It is refreshing to see that other people see hondas in the same light that we do, worth nothing more than a good laugh when they are torn to pieces.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,473 other followers

