Betrayal! Sex! Murder! Our first ever TV commercial starts off with a bang.

May 16, 2012

I am about to pimp a commercial gyro San Francisco is producing. This is not something I usually do. The last thing I want this blog to be is a shill for my agency. I don’t get that many readers as it is!

So why now? Bunch of reasons. First, this is gyro’s first TV commercial EVER and the same goes for our client. That’s two firsts in one. I’m not comfortable revealing the client’s name (yet) but if you look at our client roster you’ll find only technology companies. So, yes, it’s one of them. These facts alone make it a special event –for them and for us. And given I just started at gyro, you can imagine my excitement.

Fortunately, our debut TV spot is also a barnburner, if I do say so myself: a truly badass piece of filmmaking featuring guns, whiskey, and notorious women. When was the last time you saw a firearm being discharged against a human in a TV commercial? Well, you will in this one. And the bastard deserves what he’s getting. Or does he? Maybe it’s the woman in his arms who deserves a bullet. Either way, here’s the gun.

Let me tell you a little about the director. A Hollywood pro, his very next job after ours is directing the season finale of True Blood. A long time ago he also directed a dark comedy, which is now considered a classic. We are jacked about having him helm our TV spot. Can you guess his name?

Last but most definitely not least on reasons why I’m so thrilled about this project is the media buy. Our spot will be debuting on the season finale of a little cable show called Mad Men.

Add it all up, and this is our Super Bowl. We. Are. Stoked. As for me being coy, why not? The spot has a “Whodunit” vibe and, well, I’m just going with it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,037 other followers

